Sleep (Rondeau)

With red bold letters it’s 3 o’clock,
It’s time to sleep, but why does your dog have to bark?
Why does my neighbor have to boom his radio broadcast?
Why do all the the loud shrieking cars have to pass?
Why are there drunks shouting out in the park?

Why do you all have to be such jerks?
If I don’t get any sleep, I might go berserk.
I’m about to lose my shit fast.
I just want to go the fuck to sleep!

So SHUT UP! To the guy on his phone bragging how he got off from work
and the girl nagging her boyfriend to go on vacation to New York.
As well as my father who keeps checking tomorrow’s forecast.
And I can’t forget about the couple upstairs who reunited at last.
This is no sappy special from Hallmark
I just want to go. the fuck. to sleep!

 

©Alissa Vreeland, 2017.

 

 

Author: avree97

An aspiring author. I love to write poems and short stories.

Leave a Reply

